3 comments on “What’s to Abhor? | Old Life Theological Society

  1. St Paul advises sober self-criticism, but, abhorrence? No, neither “godly pride.”

    Either would be too high a view of self, and too little thinking of Christ.

    Romans 12:3 ~ For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.

    Titus 2:12 ~ teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world;

    Setting out minds heavenward would also leave little room for much self-loathing: Phil. 4:8 & Col. 3:1f.

    Like

  2. Job 42:5f ~ I have heard of thee by the hearing of the ear: but now mine eye seeth thee. Wherefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.

    Not unlike Isaiah’s vision of the LORD in his chapter 6. In v. 5, he responds to God’s glory thusly:
    Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.

    But it doesn’t end there. Then flew one of the seraphims unto me, having a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with the tongs from off the altar: and he laid it upon my mouth, and said, Lo, this hath touched thy lips; and thine iniquity is taken away, and thy sin purged.

    In Christ, we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of his grace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

